Hi Folks!

I’m Joyce Orlando and graduated with a Bachelors of Science in Mass Communication* with a minor in Print Journalism in August of 2012. For the past two years I have worked as a reporter in Indiana, and now in North Carolina. My time at Shepherd University’s Communication Department was littered with experiences that have helped in my field and also in my personal hobbies.

Joyce Orlando takes a moment out of photographing and covering an active shooter training at a local high school in North Carolina. Oh and FYI law enforcement like to shoot pellets at reporters who aren't paying attention.

Joyce Orlando takes a moment out of photographing and covering an active shooter training at a local high school in North Carolina. Oh and FYI law enforcement like to shoot pellets at reporters who aren’t paying attention.

I’ve been a firm believer in the changing nature of the world of reporting and using what I learned from Monica, Kevin and Jason have actually put me ahead of many other in my field. Most print media sources are transitioning to incorporate digital media into them, to help draw on different demographics.

The skills in social media, video and different forms of multi-media has not only assisted me in finding a job quickly after graduation, it has also allowed me to move to higher positions quickly.

When I started in Indiana my background helped me in promoting a small town newspaper on social media (my presence on the internet was one of the reasons for hiring me) and to help them start establishing a video aspect to both their advertising and editorial departments. After a year had passed, it was time to move on to the next level and now I find myself at The Shelby Star, located in Shelby, N.C.

Here I work as the public safety reporter. My job entails covering county courts and working with law enforcement. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and other social media outlets are a constant in my day. If an incident occurs, I go to the scene and am able to keep readers up-to-date on what is happening and where it is happening.

I spent many years in Knutti learning how to push my boundaries and trying my hand at new concepts and ideas, it has helped to make me a more well-rounded reporter in the digital age.


Editor’s note: The name of the major has since changed from “Mass Communication” to “Communication and New Media”. 

Leave a Reply

