True Life: How I Got Promoted Within a Year on the Job

Hello again! Here’s the second installment in my 3-part series on my transitioning from a #ShepComm student to career person. Here’s part 1 on the job hunt if you missed it. Okay, on to part 2:

Once I landed my first “real” job out of college, I was excited to begin my career. While I was by no means starting at the bottom, one of the most intriguing aspects of my job was the ability to move up within my team and the company.

I asked about promotions and advancements in my original interview, and I was informed that many opportunities were available and even more were being developed. So, as I began my new position, I worked hard. And, I worked hard to gain the respect of my co-workers and management. While I truly believe this paid off, I also tried to show initiate by volunteering to help with special projects and develop better ideas to help our processes.

Before I knew it, a senior position opened up on my team. Although I had not even been working for the company an entire year, I decided that I needed to interview.

I was confident in the work I produced and confident in my ability to be promoted and succeed. I also realized, though, that even if I was not offered the promotion, this round of interviews would better prepare me for the next time, and it would show my management that I was interested and serious about moving up. In the end, I was not selected for that opportunity. But, I stayed positive and knew I was even more prepared for the next opportunity.

A few months later, another senior position opened on my team. At this point, I was at the company for about a year and truly felt this was my opportunity. Before I interviewed, though, I took time to think about my current position and develop ideas for team improvements and personal improvements and goals. I wanted to let my management know that I sincerely cared about our team and would be the best choice for the position. I left my interview feeling like I accomplished many things! Ultimately, I knew the decision may come down to more than just a single interview; however, I felt I represented myself the best way I could and gave the management some insightful ideas to consider.

After what seemed like a decade (although it was really just a little over a week), the management finally made a decision. It was me!

I was thrilled. But I knew my work was just beginning. I accepted the position and have been a senior on my team for about 6 months now!

This experience has been very rewarding for me, and I hope to be able to advance further in the future. For now, I am focusing on continuing my hard work and dedication to my job. Overall, I attribute many of these critical skills that have helped me to succeed to my college experience. College taught me many things. I learned how to work hard, take initiative, and dedicate myself to something worthwhile. I cannot predict what the future will hold, but I will be obtaining an MBA form Shepherd University this May, which will be more discussed in my next blog post!

This entry was posted in Alumni by Ashley Laspina. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ashley Laspina

After graduating from Shepherd University in 2013 with a Bachelors of Science in Communication and New Media, I am approaching my graduation in the MBA program at Shepherd. I am working full time at a local online university, and was recently promoted to a senior on my team. I am looking forward to continuing my education in psychology once I complete by MBA in May of 2015.

Leave a Reply

