True Life: I Got an MBA After Earning an Undergraduate Degree

Hello again! If you have not already done so, please check out my first and second blog, as this is a three part series about my life after graduating from the Shepherd University Department of Communication. In my final blog, I will be discussing my journey through the MBA program at Shepherd University.

To be completely honest, as graduation was approaching, I felt unsure about my future. Before starting college, I anticipated going to graduate school. But I was confused as to the school or even the program. After mulling over this for several months during my senior year at Shepherd, I decided to apply to the MBA program at Shepherd. Not only did I expect this degree to assist in my career, I felt I would personally gain a lot from this degree, which was equally important to me.

Because I did not have a clear career path in front of me, I was intrigued to learn more about business and management, in the hopes that maybe I could even open up my own business one day. During the MBA program, I learned about finances including accounting and economics, but also enjoyed classes about marketing, international business, and leadership. These classes were not easy. I had to push myself and spend hours at a time working to complete assignments. Fortunately, the communication department gave me a solid foundation, so I felt prepared while working through the program.

For example, I was required to complete a research project in the MBA program. But this wasn’t my first time doing such a project. During my senior year in the Department of Communication, I completed a COMM 461 Senior Capstone where I applied what I had learned throughout my time as a communication student to complete a semester-long individual project. My MBA research project required me to work with less guidance than I got as an undergraduate. But, I was confident and ready to complete this project because of my capstone experience during my time in the communication department.

I jumped into the MBA program full force in 2013, and I am preparing to graduate this May!

I am not just walking away from this experience with a degree. I am walking away with knowledge, experience, and pride. I was recently promoted at my job, and truly believe I had an edge over other applicants because of my ongoing work towards my MBA. Also, I feel confident in my career and comfortable speaking about the company with our financial experts. Overall, applying for the MBA program was one of the best decisions I made.

At times, motivation can be hard to find, but the work is well worth it.

So, this is my journey from student to career to earning my MBA. I wish everyone the best that is graduating this year and will be happy to see you at the graduation ceremony!

This entry was posted in Alumni by Ashley Laspina. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ashley Laspina

After graduating from Shepherd University in 2013 with a Bachelors of Science in Communication and New Media, I am approaching my graduation in the MBA program at Shepherd. I am working full time at a local online university, and was recently promoted to a senior on my team. I am looking forward to continuing my education in psychology once I complete by MBA in May of 2015.

Leave a Reply

