Student Experience: From Shepherd’s Studio Production to WHAG-NEWS

If you’re really interested in studio production or working in the world of news, COMM 360 is the course for you! Studio production was a very neat experience. It really prepared me for my current internship at WHAG-News in Hagerstown, MD. Dr. Kevin Williams really created a course full of fun studio knowledge. From learning the systems theory, to filming and producing a show–the whole class was a blast! Looking back on it, I’m so happy that I decided to be a part of the class. It truly gave me real world experience. There are so many job positions that Dr. Williams covers and allows you to fulfill. It really helped me to find where my own interests are. I encourage everyone to take this course. I guarantee that there will be some aspect of it that you find exciting–just as I had! From my own standpoint, WHAG-NEWS was impressed of the knowledge I had attained prior to my internship. I have COMM 360 Studio Production to thank for that!!

Above Image: Filming Christopher Rector and his group for a project done in Studio Production.

Filming Christopher Rector and his group for a project done in Studio Production.

Here I am with Chloe Powers. We are taking the Director & Switcher Seats in the Control Room.

Here I am with Chloe Powers. We are taking the Director & Switcher Seats in the Control Room.

This entry was posted in COMM 360: Studio Production by t_yokum. Bookmark the permalink.

About t_yokum

A Shepherd University senior, graduating in December 2015 with a BS degree in COMM/NEW MEDIA (with a concentration in Media Studies) & a minor in Art. I am easily remembered by my country accent. I'm a WV native. Besides keeping busy with college work, I enjoy riding horses, drinking coffee, and binge-watching on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

