Opening Hearts to Open Minds

Senior Capstone. Two of the most exciting, yet scary, words that can slip out of your mouth. Why? Well, of course you know you’1422414_10204705429854119_6974678299512176589_nre so excited to complete your final project in the Shepherd University Department of Communication. However, it’s a little scary and overwhelming because lots of time, hard work, and patience goes into this project that leaves your lasting impression as you walk out into the real world.

Capstone for me was a lot of fun–as Professor Monica Larson said it would be, at least she said so to the class, as long as we managed our time and projects in a well-mannered way–and of course choosing a project of which we are passionate about.

During my adventure here at Shepherd University, I dabbled a good bit in the Digital Filmmaking side of the COMM Department. Therefore, I decided to channel what I had learned in those particular courses and bring them forth in my Capstone Project.

With a new studio lighting kit (a Christmas gift of mine– Thanks Mom!), I was ready to set up and create a film trailer. My Church in my cozy hometown of Upper Tract, WV has been discussing the rapture and the coming of the Lord. A lot times, people in movies try to make this scary–but if you’re ready for it, it’s the complete opposite. I wanted to channel these positive feelings into my trailer called Soon. For me, it’s hard to hear others who doubt God’s existence. I mean, look at all the beautiful sights in the world! Again, that was another thing about my trailer that I wanted to make sure was highlighted. I want to open up people’s minds to God, and I know that sometimes the way to do so is to open their hearts first.

DVD Cover for My Film Trailer (Made in Adobe Photoshop)

DVD Cover for My Film Trailer (Made in Adobe Photoshop)

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 9.40.45 PM

Cheesy Laughs with Alexis (a cast member)

I’m truly blessed to have an awesome church family. They allowed me to spend several hours gathering the right footage in the church scenes in the trailer. So many thanks are in order to them, as well as my cast members. I traveled home (2.5 hours away from Shepherdstown) to gather a large portion of the footage used for the film trailer. For editing, I started in Adobe Premiere, but ended up more comfortable in iMovie. I struggle somewhat with audio, it’s the least thing I have practiced in the COMM Department, so I was back and forth between voiceovers and editing audio on WavePad.

Editing in iMovie

Editing in iMovie

Nonetheless, I’m truly satisfied and happy about my project. I got a lot of positive responses which really made me feel that I had accomplished what I set out to do. I know my awesome God is proud.

Oh! And one more exciting factor! I was very proud of myself for this– I wanted, well had to use a song by The Sidewalk Prophets. Their music inspires me so much, so I just had to incorporate them. One of the most important things that I have learned as a COMM student is the importance of copyrighted material–and permission is always important. So through countless e-mails and long time spans of waiting, I was granted permission to use a song by this talented band (However, I do have limitations for where my trailer can be placed). Anyhow, I’m very pleased that I was able to do this. 🙂

My Church :)

My Church 🙂

In closing– I can’t even begin to express all of my gratitude to the COMM Department and all of the amazing faculty members. I’ve learned so much during my time here and I feel so prepared for what is to come next. Capstone was A LOT of hard work, but it was incredibly worth it.

This entry was posted in COMM 461: Senior Capstone Project by t_yokum. Bookmark the permalink.

About t_yokum

A Shepherd University senior, graduating in December 2015 with a BS degree in COMM/NEW MEDIA (with a concentration in Media Studies) & a minor in Art. I am easily remembered by my country accent. I'm a WV native. Besides keeping busy with college work, I enjoy riding horses, drinking coffee, and binge-watching on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

