The Battle For Eden: Public Edition

Donald Greenwalt

Donald Greenwalt

Over the past few months I have been working on a fan film based from the Assassin’s Creed video game franchise. Over this timespan I’ve had some great learning experiences, and some not so great learning experiences. However, the experience as a whole allowed me to take a step toward working in film. While I was only able to get a trailer finished to present to the public, I am very happy with what I have done so far.

Creating The Film

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 11.38.42 PM.png

My favorite shot from the film so far.

Actually working on this project came with it’s own challenges. I was driven up the wall with stress a few times, and there was a few points that I repeatedly banged my head on a hard surface. Why was this happening? When making the film, my stress came down to a few simple factors:

 

  • Jobs
  • Actors and Scheduling
  • Time Management

While jobs are self explanatory, let me elaborate on the other two.

Actors and Scheduling

Finding actors was hard enough. Getting things to work out with their own schedules was even harder. Most of my actors are fellow college students and all had their own jobs and classes to handle. this made a challenge in getting all the people I needed for specific scenes.

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 11.27.24 PM.png

I even had to jump in a scene in order to have an actor.

Time Management

I had a hard time making time to do any editing and prep work I needed. The problem was had and easy solution, don’t procrastinate. Yes, there are some nights I was tired and decided “I’ll do it in the morning” and morning came and I hated myself. The biggest problem in my time management was MY time management.

Overall creating this was an interesting experience. One that I definitely learned from in many ways, but the most stress came with the presentation

Presenting My Work

I felt nothing but stress for two weeks leading up to this film being presented to the public. Everything that could have gone wrong WENT WRONG. I felt like everything was going to come crashing down due to my neglect and me feeling inadequate in my abilities compared to my fellow college students. My presentation board didn’t come out the way I wanted, I had things not print right, and I was about to tear my hair out from anxiety.

Then the time to present began.

I was afraid to talk to people and bring them from my board, mostly from it not being how I wanted and being afraid people wouldn’t like it. However, as more people came, I felt my confidence rise. I felt like people actually liked my work and enjoyed what I was able to create. I received a lot of comments where people loved my work.

I stressed for nothing.

It was a great experience overall to see my work be loved by others. This is why I have a passion for film, because I can bring something to life for people to enjoy. Seeing how I felt about my simple trailer compared to how other saw it, I was able to confirm that I truly am my biggest critic. This experience has done more than give me a final project; it ignited my passion even more for what I do in creating films.

You can watch the trailer on Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

