5 Topics to Avoid This Thanksgiving

It is almost that time of the semester when students go home for Thanksgiving break!  We put together a list of 5 topics to avoid talking about at the dinner table.

Arugment

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-NC. It is a representation of Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watson

 

There comes a time every fall semester where students leave their dorms and go home for the holidays.  For some, going home for holiday breaks can feel like more stress than it’s worth.  You must prepare for all the unwarranted questions your family will ask about college.  We thought, what better way to avoid this cringe-fest than to formulate a list of “don’ts” to talk about at the dinner table.  Enjoy our list of five things to not discuss at Thanksgiving dinner.

1. The amount of food someone eats

College students are always two things- hungry, and broke. I look forward to Thanksgiving Day every single year.  It is the only time I don’t care how horrible my body will feel the next day-I eat it all.  Most people excuse holidays as a cheat day as far as diet and exercise is concerned.

food

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND

After eating cafeteria food for a few months, anything homemade tastes gourmet.  Most conversations that talk about the amount of food someone eats, probably won’t end well.  If you are the gluttonous one, just let everyone know how long it’s been since you’ve eaten real food- I’m sure they’ll understand.

2. Never bring up the exes

Bringing up the exes is never a good conversation starter at family events.  It could open old wounds, and end in everyone upset.  There may be instances where crazy cousin Sue brings up Aunt Karen’s crazy ex-boyfriend, in which everyone can reminisce and laugh.  Even then, it’s probably best if you wait until your one-on-one with someone to open that can of worms.

ex

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND

One Thanksgiving my little sister brought up an ex-girlfriend that my uncle had five years before, while his new girlfriend was in the room.  Needless to say, it ended in several people getting upset, and my mom having a talk with my sister.  Do yourself a favor and keep it to yourself.

3. The bad food

This can be a tough one.  Everyone reading this can probably think of one “traditional” dish that their family serves that they can’t stand.  As a child, my mom would make me try everything.  I quickly realized that I do not like sauerkraut, every year my grandma asks me to taste it, hoping this is the year I change my mind… I still hate sauerkraut.

smell

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-NC

Some families invite extended family from hours away and make an event out of the holiday.  In my family, we ask that each person brings a dish every year.  These dishes are usually the same dishes, brought by the same family every year.  You quickly begin to distinguish the good from not-so-good cooks.  Don’t worry, every family has them!

4. Religion

I get it, this seems like an obvious one, right? In college we are taught to start thinking differently, to question things, to step out of our comfort zones.

religion

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-SA

While dealing with the stress of college, students are trying to figure out what we want to do with our lives. This is a time when we are continuing to explore our morals and beliefs. We have learned by trial and error that conversation about religion is one of the quickest ways to get everyone fired up. I recommend that you leave your questions and concerns about your family’s religion for another visit.

5. Politics

Like religion, this is another topic that seems obvious. For me, politics never seemed like a negative thing to talk about until recently. Many debates have taken place in my classes as well as among friends. It has opened my eyes to differing opinions and the degree to which people hold strong opinions on both sides of the political spectrum.

politics

This Photo by Unknown Author is licensed under CC BY-SA

Whether you like those in office or not, a family dinner where relatives of all ages are in one room, may not be the best time to declare your feelings – good or bad. So, what do you do if a conversation starts, and you disagree? Do everyone a favor and change the subject as quickly as possible. You may just save Thanksgiving dinner.

We hope this quick guide will keep you enjoying the turkey and gravy, and not watching it flung across the Thanksgiving dinner table by upset family members. Enjoy Thanksgiving break!

 

Leave a comment